As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Majorities of the adults spend most of their lifetime at work; job satisfaction plays a vital role for a person’s health and happiness. This essay will first discuss that a prime factor contributing to job satisfaction is the monthly payslip they receive from the employer and it is unrealistic to expect job satisfaction as most of the employees are underpaid.

One obvious factor that is directly linked to job satisfaction is the monthly paycheck people receive for their work. This is because when employees put their efforts in an organization to provide quality results and in turn, they consider their monthly salary as an acknowledgment to their hard work and commitment. When their salary equates to their contribution, it gives them a sense of accomplishment and encourages them to perform better. For instance, a recent online survey in India showed that nearly 67% of workers consider their monthly salary as a boosting factor to go to the office regularly.

It is unrealistic for all employees to be satisfied at work because many workers are underpaid. That is to say, due to the normalization policies followed in the transnational cooperation, many people do not receive their expected compensations, in spite of their talents or remarkable performance. This is the strategy followed by employers in order to manage their company’s revenue. For example, nearly three-fifths of the ATI employees are underpaid, as it is reported that the organization follows a bell-curve strategy as a part of their employee’s appraisal process which puts a large group of people in the “underpaid” curve.

To conclude, many people spend most of their life at work and it is incredibly essential for them to get job satisfaction. I believe the major factor in contributing to job satisfaction is the monthly salary they receive from the company and it is unrealistic to the most as they are underpaid by the employers.