As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

A majority of the adults spend a great deal of their life at work, job satisfaction is regarded as a critical factor for a person’s health and happiness. This essay will first discuss that a prime factor contributing to job satisfaction is the monthly payslip they receive from the employer and it is unrealistic to expect job satisfaction as most of the employees are underpaid.

One obvious factor that is directly linked to job satisfaction is the paycheck people receive for their work. This is because when employees put their best efforts in an organization to provide quality deliverables and, in turn, they consider their monthly salary as an acknowledgment to their hard work and commitment. When their salary equates to their contribution, it gives them a sense of accomplishment and encourages to perform better. For instance, a recent online survey in India showed that nearly 67% of workers consider their monthly paycheck as the boosting factor to go to office daily.

It is unrealistic for all employees being satisfied with their work because many workers are underpaid. That is to say, due to the normalization policies followed in the transnational corporations, many people do not receive their desired compensations, in spite of their talents or remarkable performance. This is the strategy followed by employers in order to manage their company’s revenue. For example, nearly three-fifths of ATI employees are underpaid, as it is reported that the organization follows a bell-curve strategy as part of their employee’s appraisal process which puts a large group of people in “underpaid” curve.

To conclude, many people spent most of their life at work and it is really essential for them to get job satisfaction. I believe that the monthly paychecks are the major factor in promoting their satisfaction at the workplace and it is unrealistic for many people as most are underpaid.