Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against common childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

What is your view of this practice?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The topic of immunisation is a controversial one. While there are some who believe that forced vaccination must be adopted, others argue that it must be a matter of personal choice. In my view, while a wide-berth can be given to parents for certain vaccinations, other diseases which spread easily and infect other children must be imposed as a mandate.

Parents today are moving towards providing natural therapy to their kids and therefore, do not prefer resorting to usage of drugs for their children. Their concentration is more on strengthening body's immunity and enabling it to fight virus by itself without any external support. For instance, a eye-opening article in the Health and Heart magazine's October 2017 edition, published experiments conducted by naturo-therapists where chronic ailments like Asthma and Sinus were cured by following an organic regime. Since there are no side-effects, parents must be given the right to choose.

Despite the proven benefits of natural therapy, there have been instances where certain common virus infections have spread among children like fire. Since every child's body immunity is different, these infections hamper their growth and development. To illustrate, inspite of making ROTA vaccination available at all public and private hospitals due to some parents' decision against vaccinating their children lead to their children falling prey to this virus more than once, weakening their immunity. Government must therefore step-up and take charge as this is the need of the hour.

To conclude, parents must definitely be given the authority to decide how and what to immunise their child against. However, it is also an accepted fact that some parents might be ignorant of the full extent of harm certain diseases might cause. Therefore, in my view government should intervene make these vaccinations an imposition on all parents.