Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Governments across the globe have various policies relating to management of traffic for their country.

There are few individuals who are of the opininon that people voilating traffic rules must be

castigated harshly while others do not agree with this. This essay completely agrees with this

assessment and will discuss in detail why there must be far more strict penalties for people

who do not follow the traffic rules.

To start with, as responsible citizens, we all must accept the fact that people who voilate traffic

rules not only endanger their own life, but also the lives of those around them. Such people do

not function within the norms of the society which expects everyone to follow rules for a smooth

and well-functioning city. Hence, they must be dealt with far stricter punishments. For instance,

an individual when driving a car, breaks the signal in a busy traffic, more often than not, ends

up injuring others or even worse, killing them. So, what can be done to reduce these traffic

offences? The only reasonable answer is to create sensitivity and fear of law by levying

harsh castigation on these offenders so that they are not repeated.

Furthermore, disregard to follow traffic rules also leads to unnecessary traffic jams,

which eventually ends up wasting eveyones valuable time.This is especially true during the morning

time where people are always in a hurry to reach their work location and do not adhere

to traffic rules. For instance, in a country like India, different types of vehicles including

2-wheeler, 3-wheeler and 4-wheeler can be found the road, driving by neither following the rules of

lanes system nor maintaining distance from other vehicles. The person inadvertently gets delayed

by getting into jams and stressed out by concentrating on avoiding hitting other vehicles.

To sum up, the essay fully agreed with the opinion that there must be stricter punishments for traffic violators mainly because of two reasons, including, endangering others lives and creating unnecessary delays and hassles to general public. The law-enforcers must ensure that some laws cannot be broken.