Some people consider price as the most important thing to consider when buying a product (such as a cellphone) or a service (e.g medical treatment) do you agree or disagree?

Generally, people have a laundry list of basic requirements which needs to be satisfied before making a choice on a product. There are a few people who are of the opinion that the cost of the commodity plays a vital role in helping them arrive at a decision of whether to buy or not to buy, especially in case of electronic gadgets like mobile phones or seeking health-care facilities. This essay will argue how price might be one of the factors but not the most influencing factor while taking a decision.

Firstly, it is important to understand that the decision of buying a product arises out of a need. Therefore, the buyer will always look for the features that satisfies his needs from a given product. Then, he will equate the value to the cost before taking the final decision. For instance, while buying a mobile phone, people look for the ratings given by other buyers, its memory, RAM, battery life among other things before raising questions on price. Most of the time, they would not hesitate to stretch their budget if all other requirements are met. Here, overall satisfaction matters, which is possible only when all factors are considered.

In addition to the above, the same stands true when it comes to procuring services. Infact, more so, if it is related to something as sensitive as health-care. People approach hospitals with the sole aim of getting the best of treatments and therefore, do their ground work by finding out about the doctors before deciding their preferred treatment center. It would be fool-hardy on their part to simply look at the price-chart and then decide whether to get the treatment done or not. For example, if the ailment is serious and the doctors are the best in a particular hospital, people normally prefer to go ahead with the treatment irrespective of cost. What matters to them is the life of their loved ones and not the expense.

To sum up, the essay argued that even though the price matters to some extent, on a larger scale, it is the performance and features in case of mobiles and success of treatments in case of hospitals, which drives people towards decision making.