Many children these days have an unhealthy lifestyle. Both schools and parents are responsible for solving this problem. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The topic of who should take the onus of ensuring that children are fed healthy food at all times is a controversial one. So, who is ultimately responsible to supervise a child's diet? While there are some who believe that the accountability must be jointly owned by both the educational institutions and the parents, others do not agree with this statement. In my opinion, both the school and parents must own-it up and come together to safeguard the child's well-being by managing their daily food intake.

Firstly, it is an accepted fact that all good habits begin at home. Therefore, parents play a vital role in influencing their child's nutritional preference by what they themselves consume at home. Health conscious parents tend to ensure that their children's diet is balanced in order to boost their overall growth and immunity. For instance, family with both parents often working late, usually binge on junk or fast food and end-up feeding their children the same kind of food. Since, a major portion of a child's formative years are spent at home with parents, they form lasting dietary habits which either benefit them or become a lifestyle hazard in the future.

Similarly, schools' are also places where the child spends a good part of their day learning new concepts which broaden their minds. In addition to parents, teachers' also play a crucial part in educating children about ill-effects of consuming unhealthy food. To illustrate, fun sessions or workshops can be arranged and visual documentaries can be shown to emphasize on the significance of good diet as against the detrimental effects of choosing a harmful diet. Hence, educational institutions can promote health campaigns with support and participation of local parents, to introduce and inspire children to choose a better life by taking informed decisions as far as food is concerned.

To sum up, this essay is completely in agreement that both parents and schools must step forward and educate and supervise the dietary habits of their children. This can be done by making sure that their eating habits at home are well-organized and monitored by parents', while schools' ensure that proper awareness of unbalanced and harmful diet is given to reduce the chances of adopting an unsafe lifestyle.