Whoever controls the media also controls the opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Write at least 250 words.

In the recent past, there has been a considerable increase in flow of information through various communication channels. However, there are some people who are of the opinion that individuals behind media not only influence but also alter peoples beliefs and behaviors on any given subject and not much can be done to correct it afterwards. This essay completely agrees with this deduction and will discuss in detail how strong this influence is in changing people's perception.

To start with, it is a known fact that people are social beings and are influenced with what they see and hear. Broadcasting channel therefore, plays a very important role in shaping this perception within the society. For example, during elections, the polling information relayed about the winning and loosing party, of a particular area, psychologically manipulates other voters as well. The indecisive nature of humans make them easy targets to such manipulators. The process is subtle, but the result has lasting impact.

In addition to the above, media also influences peoples mannerisms with respect to how they treat each other. Any news item or information is enough to extract an aggressive reaction without applying thought behind their actions. An example to this would be a recent case of harassment which was publicized by a celebrity and got a lot of media attention while in reality, it was all a farce , due to incorrect portrayal of the incident. Since the focus is on increasing the TRP's, the media tycoons play with people's minds and emotions to achieve their goals.

To sum up, the essay strongly agrees that media tycoons control people's belief and influence their behavior to suit their requirement of making money including influencing voters with broadcasting polling information and sensationalizing incidents without finding conclusive evidence.