Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

You should write at least 250 words

The nutritional value of fast foods has been a controversial topic since almost a decade now. Due to the hectic lifestyle prevalent in urban cities, availability of these foods is on a rise and so is their consumption. However, despite being tasty and easy to prepare, their ill effects on health and cognitive development makes them an undesirable choice.

Firstly, the ingredients used to prepare fast food are not all natural and have taste enhancers which addict the consumers . Therefore, over-eating leads to lasting health issues. For example, an article in "Health is Wealth" 2017 edition, stated that Burgers are made of a special flour that takes about two days to digest and often causing bloating and stomach ulcers, which are extremely painful and have lasting impact on the person's health. Due to lack of time or energy to cook a healthy meal, many families find it easier to buy readily available food from the outside to satisfy their hunger.

Secondly, consumption of too many fast foods disrupts the cognitive development of growing children as they are denied of important nutrients which are crucial for the growth of the brain cells. Such kids become lethargic not just physically but also mentally as they find it difficult to concentrate and lack interest in learning and developing themselves. For instance, a recent newspaper article on child development published an astonishing scientific research conducted by comparing the mental development of a group of children who were given only fast food for an entire week as against another group who consumed only fresh vegetables and healthier foods. The results proved that no new brain cells were formed in children consuming only fast food during the week. Therefore, it would be right to say An entire generation will be affected if the food preferences are not changed.

To conclude, the essay highlighted how despite having better taste and taking less preparation time, regular consumption of fast food has dangerous health-hazards and lasting impact on the mental development of children and therefore must be consumed judiciously.