Many old buildings are protected by law and are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

Tourism across the globe thrives on historical locations which fascinates and attracts tourists. Despite many countries having policies around conservation of old relics and structures, there are a few who feel that old buildings must be demolished and new ones should take their place. This essay will discuss in detail the relevance of conserving old structures while arguing how the antiquity need not necessarily block the way to future.

To start with, these structures not only satisfy man's fascination with his past but also throws light on the human evolution. For example, the castle of Edinburgh gives an amazing insight on the strength and might, used in constructing the castle along with the strategy behind selecting a mountain-top to build it. Ancient stone buildings also portrays architectural excellence and craftman-ship used in ancient times. They are a stepping stone to help us understand ourselves better.

Having said that, history should not be blamed for hindering growth of a nation. Tourism is a fantastic way to ensure that a country's history is not just preserved but actually becomes its identity. For example, Paris is known for its architectural marvel that is Eiffel Tower while Agra is famous because of Taj Mahal. People flock from all over the world just to catch a glimpse of these buildings which are also known as one of the eight wonders of the world. Law-makers can infact benefit by preserving their historical monuments and use the income generated, for their country's growth.

To sum up, the essay discussed in detail the significance of preserving and cherishing ones history and old buildings that not only give us insight on our past but also acts an an excellent source of revenue for the country thereby helping in overall development instead of hampering their progress.