Many old buildings are protected by law and are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

You should write at least 250 words.

Some governments preserve historical buildings as part of maintaining their country's national heritage. Some people, in the name of progress, believe that these building should be demolished and replaced with new ones. I personally believe that maintaining a country's traditional architecture is essential to its national character. Though traditionalism should not stand in the way of progress, countries can still develop their modern infrastructure together with their historical buildings.

It is believed that protecting some historical buildings is important since they have historical value. They are the physical representation of the country's past. Many of the buildings have been the witnesses to important events of a particular country, and therefore they should be preserved. One example would be the Palace of Versaille in France. This magnificent building was a major site in the French revolution - a momentous event in France's history. Once the symbol of the absolute power of the elite, today it is a museum that is visited by thousands of people each year. This is testament to the importance of maintaining old buildings as part of a nation's heritage and character.

Although history should not stand in the way of progress and modernisation, maintaining old buildings attract tourists, which boosts the economy. Old buildings are also reminders of a city's culture and complexity. Additionally, to destroy them would be more than destroying bricks and mortar, but also the years of history they hold in them. Old buildings are valuable for a community's future. Though construction is a symbol of a country's development, it should not be at the cost of the past.

In conclusion, maintaining historical buildings is definitely necessary, because they have been eyewitnesses of important historical events. Though progress is necessary for every country, it should not be at the expense of old buildings.