Some people think that it is a good thing for senior management positions to have very high salaries compared to other workers of the same company or organization. To what extend do you agree?

Historically, companies have been paying salaries as per the roles and responsibilities assigned to each employee. A few individuals are of the opinion that people occupying higher management offices should be compensated handsomely as compared to their co-employees in the company while others do not approve of this idea. This essay completely agrees with this suggestion and will discuss in detail why the key decision-makers must be paid better than the others in the same company.

To start with, one must understand that the role of the senior management is a very critical one. These people are responsible to form policies and processes around the company's mission and vision, as this will be followed through the entire division or department. Their decisions directly effect the companies balance sheet figures. For instance, a company's board and senior managers take a decision regarding the organisations divisional structure thereby assigning tasks and goals to each department. Any misleading calculation will result in huge losses for the entire organisation. They are the ones who have to direct change in any company as other employees look up to them for support and guidance.

Additionally, they are the face of the company when it comes to attending public seminars or forums. These places are a platform to create a positive impression and publicize ones own organisation and therefore they must be well-groomed and look dignified. They must be able to afford a comfortable lifestyle which must boast of a company's success and reflect their confident in their future with the company. For instance, a poorly-dressed person from a company's senior management will be ridiculed and demeaned by people of the same stature from other companies. Here it is important to remember that more than the individual, it is the company who will be far more affected due to this.

To sum up, the essay fully agrees that a company's senior management must be paid well to ensure that when people look at them, they associate them with the company's success. The responsibility they carry is that of decision-making on behalf of the entire organisation and therefore must be compensated well for their efforts.