Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days children are becoming less well-behaved. Some parents believe that using physical violence on their children is the best way to asset discipline. This essay will argue that beating children with bad behaviour is entirely unnecessary instead there are alternative strategies to keep control over them.

Adults find it hard to discipline their descendants so they find physical punishment is the most effective method. Some children are really firm and fearless which gives parents no choice but slap them to show power. They find it is working strategy as in a result children keep themselves back being actually scared of parents. For instance, a survey in Paide has shown that over 700 parents have punished their children physically due to bad behaviour like smoking or not satisfying learning outcomes. It is understandable why some parents resolve problems with smacking their children as it stops unacceptable behaviour although there are other methods to asset discipline.

Despite what some parents believe in using physical violence to form discipline on their children is actually the disrespectful and wrong way to raise a child. Abusing children physically is humiliating and embarrassing which could lower the self-esteem and result in mental problems like depression. Nobody likes to be smacked at home and there are some alternative solutions to use. For example, parents could take something important away that belongs to a child, like pocket-money, a toy or ban them to meet their good friends. These would be much more effective and friendlier approaches to keep children motivated and disciplined.

In conclusion, this essay argued that people who smack their children are trying to show their power but it could lower a child’s self-respect and result in depression. Instead of physical punishment, adults might take something morally important away that keeps the children obedient.