Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is still a common habit in all countries through the degree to which it is accepted varies considerably. As it is harmful not only to smokers but also to those who do not smoke, many argue it should be prohibited in public areas. I completely agree with banning smoking in such spaces and will explain why in this essay.

The most persuasive reason why non-smokers should not be compelled to breathe in the air from other’s cigarettes is that this can cause lung cancer and asthma. Indeed, inhaling cigarette smoke passively has been show in many studies to cause deposits of cancer-producing tar in the lungs of those who are in the same room or outdoor space as people smoking. This is even more damaging for children, as their exposure to these harmful toxins occurs when their lungs are still developing, thereby increasing their risk of being asthmatic. Clearly, nonsmokers should not face this danger in public places.

Aside from the health risks of public-smoking, the issue of freedom is important. Everyone is entitled to breathe clean air and it is incumbent on those we elect to maintain a healthy environment for all. This includes public areas such as outside cafes, parks, and playgrounds where we all should be able to gather without fear of breathing polluted air. In Australia, for instance, although some businesses can set their own rules, smoking is now illegal at public transport stations to prevent drifting smoke from affecting non-smoking passengers. Such a ban, rather than allocating certain smoke-free areas is the only way to ensure compliance and protection for all.

To conclude, there is no doubt that smoking has no place in areas open to the public. Not only can it increase the risk of harmful diseases, but it also limits our freedom