Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present age, using social media and sharing personal information have sparked much debate. Some people assert that sharing personal information on social media platform helps to socialize with different people across the world. Personally, I agree that sharing personal information on such websites can be risky and dangerous.

Social media has become very common among all age groups. Websites like Facebook, Instagram and twitter are mainly used as a tool to network with people and share information. These websites ask for personal information like name, age, location and few other information, it also has an option to upload a profile picture. By sharing all the information, people agree to the terms and conditions which they probably do not read. These terms and conditions allow these website to share your personal information to other service providers. As a result, your information is leaked to another company which you are not aware of.

In addition, posting photo's and videos on social media platforms can be disastrous. Through social media websites, one can easily save image with just one click of a button. Moreover, these images can be used for wrongful or inappropriate things. For example, a persons face can be used for another persons body and the image can be used for anything without knowing, whether the image is fake or real. Similarly, hackers create a fake profile in these websites using different images of a person to collect personal information of others.

On the other hand, social media is used extensively in the world and it is one of the best ways to connect with people you know, no matter how far they are and where they lived. It is the best way to connect and network with people across the globe. Consequently, the benefits of using social media is limited.

In summary, I would concede that using social media websites have some advantages. Despite that, sharing personal information on these websites and getting hacked supports much better way. Overall, I am convinced that sharing personal information can be very risky and dangerous.