Some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job in some countries. Other children stay in schools that provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for future work?

There is a growing trend of children attending vocational schools from the age of 11 or 13 in Europe. While some people are of the view that such schools enable children to learn practical skills that help them get a job, others feel that an academic education is more important. This essay tries to explore the context behind the two schools of thought and tries to frame an ideal solution to it.

There is no doubt that a strong academic education is very important in order to secure the future of children. A strong schooling culture not only instils discipline in children but also helps them to shape their thinking and improves learning ability which is extremely valuable in life. Besides, an elementary knowledge of all subjects is a must in order to compete in this challenging world.

However, we must understand that not all children are academically oriented. It is best to encourage such children to start learning a vocation from an early age in order to prepare them to earn their living. Giving them the early start is important so that they can excel in their field and also they have enough time to explore other options.

In my opinion, schools can provide a perfect blend of both these situations. Introducing vocational subjects like carpentry, fashion designing, automotive courses etc. will allow young minds to discover alternate career options while giving the comfort of a school environment. Specially designed tests can assess the inclination of a student to a particular skill. Besides, the vocation courses can be tailored to fit the requirements of particular students.