Some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job in some countries. Other children stay in schools that provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for future work?

Future work is dilemma for all young teenagers to choose their major. In general, schools provide a curriculum that is based on many subjects which includes all the basic information. Some schools provide for children at the age of 11 or 13 learning of practical skills that may help them get a job in some nations, while others provide a general academic education.

First, in technical schools they provide practical subjects that are precise in a specific major. In this case, the academy should focus on the major skill of the subject chosen and give it more importance than the general ones. For example, if a child chose interior design in this type of school, he should study about its history, museums, art, how to illustrate, draw and furnish…etc. this student has to know all the information about the chosen subject. But of course, general knowledge should be included like languages and others, in order to gain extra data in a brief way. In this way, this type of school help a child to focus on the major which will build his career at a young age and may help him succeed in it if he didn’t changed his mind later on.

Moreover, in general academic schools they include a wide schedule that has a bit of many subjects. In this instance, the undergraduate can observe all the information needed and he may later on focus on one material based on his interest. For example, in Lebanon the majority of schools are based on this type of curriculum. All students choose a specific kind of major after 15 years of general knowledge given in school; in grades 10, 11 and 12 they are free to choose certain education type depending on their grades. General academic schools don’t focus on a specific major whereas it gives the child a freedom of choice. This kind of school helps the student note all basic topics in order to let himself center on what he should do with his future work.

In conclusion, practical schools should focus on giving the student all the information needed especially the on site once, in order to let them experience the type of work they’ll have later on. While the academic schools should point out briefly the wide materials needed to let the undergraduate know step by step what his interested in for his future job. In my opinion, general education is much more precise for the future, in that way the child will know his real interest after receiving many skills and will focus on his future work, rather than choosing at a young age and changing plans later on.