Some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job in some countries. Other children stay in schools that provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for future work?

In this century school curriculum is different from one to another. Some students prefer to learn practical skills at a specific institution, that assist them in getting opportunities to work in the local market or outside their countries, while others think that being involved in more general academic studies, help them to reach higher positions in their upcoming live. So, schools have several options to prepare students for a better working future.

On one hand, several children like to study practical skills more than memorizing books and formulas. Recently, new schools appeared to aid such students to improve their knowledge and let the society benefit from their skills. However, some children left school at small ages to start work, so technical institutions are the solution for such youngsters, to practice and get a certificate, rather than being on the roads. For example, practical schools in Lebanon began in the late 90s, until today thousands of students are studying and achieving in several work sectors.

On the other hand, some child’s according to their study environment or what they are willing to be in their near future, they choose to continue their academic teaching. First, the new curriculums in most colleges give the opportunity to the person to opt what subjects the find themselves engaged more in it, and what future work the want to pick-up. Moreover, students believe that being in such a school that provide him/her general academic subjects, will help them to know all the courses widely, especially when they reach higher classes, so according to it they an collect their future job. For example, at my school we studied all the courses until year 12, where we choose our path, in order to prepare for ungraduated course and later occupation.

As a conclusion, each child has the opportunity to collect what to study and what future work they want. Therefore, some prefer to learn practical skills at young ages, others think it is better to stay and study more general academic education. In my opinion I think that according to each individual desire, they can gain a good future job.