Some children have a natural ability to grasp foreign languages and for that reason, it should not be a mandatory subject in the academic curriculum. Do you agree or Disagree?

here is an opinion asserting that since non-native language acquisition is an ability inherited in some children, learning these languages should be a voluntary subject in the academic schedule. I, However, disagree with this statement on the basis of some compelling reasons.

To begin with there are many benefits associated with attending language classes. First, these classes would lead to the enhancement of social life. That is to say, by integrating pupils with another language learners, these classes,provide opportunities for social interactions. For example, putting students in different groups such as speaking, writing and reading groups, allows pupils to meet new teammates regularly and work on this skills which allows them to communicate and have conversations about the subject matters by which the students’social life may be improved. Furthermore, regular language class attendance can also help students get a good chance to master the language appropriately. This is because of the language instructors who give students direct feedbacks. Whether it is grammar and pronunciation problems or the wrong use of vocabulary, the teacher would usually correct students. This authentic feedbacks, hence, in the long run, may make children master any non-native language without any mistake.

Supplementary to this,without being made compulsory,learning non-indigenous languages,may be overlooked by students.This is because,children tend to pay more attention to compulsory subjects such as biology,maths,chemistry and so on which affect their final score in school.This would cause children to miss the innate ability to learn new languages year by year.This stems from the fact that after the age of seven,children start to lose the natural ability to reproduce new sounds because of the lack of sufficient language practices.These practices,however,would come up with compulsory language classes in which students have to study hard to pass the language exams.

In conclusion,according to the above-mentioned analysis,concerning the question of whether language classes in schools should be obligatory or not,this argument seems to be accepted due to the numerous benefits this classes bring to children as well as the feasibility of the gradual demolition of the innate language learning ability.