Some cities create new housing for their growing populations by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. Other cities create more of low-rise buildings. Which solution is better, in your opinion?

As the population around the numerous demographics is soaring up, a few cities opt to establish skyscrapers to accommodate its residents while others still prefer traditional low-story buildings. Apparently, high-rise buildings are superior to their low-rise counterparts since the former renders affordable housing that too by saving the most essential resource of the contemporary world which is land.

Certainly, multi-story buildings outweigh 2 or 3 story building when it comes to providing less expensive housing options for potential buyers. Since unconventional tall architectural design has different price quotations depending upon the floor number a buyer is looking for, it makes owning a house reality for people with high to low budget. On the other hand, conventional fewer story buildings have almost the same price tag making it difficult to provide a wider range of sale quotations. For instance, when I was searching for a house in Mississauga, I came to know that buying an apartment in a 3 story would cost me double the price compared to having the same sized apartment in a skyscraper on 15th floor. Thus, by rendering house prices with remarkable different, these tall structures conquer their low story versions.

Additionally, being comprised of numerous floors, enables such buildings to accommodate a noteworthy amount of people combating the dire issue of land scarcity. While a low-rise residential building accommodates a few hundred people, a skyscraper can have thousands of people. As our land resources are becoming scarce, constructing vertical cities is the most efficient way to provide shelters to this increasing population as well as putting less pressure on land resources. Burj Khalifa, as an example, contains 72 floors which provide the ability to contain a town in it. Apparently, high-rise buildings are better than having fewer story buildings.

To conclude, in the twenty-first century when the unprecedented and ceaselessly growing population is readily consuming up the precious land resources, constructing vertical cities is the best way to handle the situation instead of erecting a lot of low rise buildings.