Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

With the advancements in the telecommunication sector, movie stars and sportsmen are making a lavish amount of money, much more than any other professional including politicians. This essay will talk about two key reasons for earning princely sums and would argue that this trend is a positive development.

Hard work and ability to make a positive impact on society are the two main reasons for getting such huge paychecks. Firstly, either it is a movie star of a sports personality, both of them, undergo rigorous training in order to perform outstandingly in their respective domain. For instance, Koby Brian, a famous NBA player, used to practise for about 7 hours a day to improve his craft. Secondly, these stars have millions or even billions of followers, so by sending constructive messages they can make a positive impact on the society which is not possible by other professionals. Due to such reasons, their pay scale is highly justified.

In terms of the impact of this trend, it is highly a positive advancement. The fact that celebrities can earn more money than others motivates individuals to either partake in sports or to be an actor which has the potential to bring glory to a nation by either winning a gold medal or an Oscar. To cite an evident example, whereas in the past, girls in India was only concerned about making a career in science now they are taking up sports as a career option. People like Geeta Phogat, commonwealth Gold medallist, is a living example of this phenomenon.

To conclude, the journey to becoming a celebrity is not only requires hard work but also talent. Being able to positively impact a nation or bring proud to it makes them worthy of earning more than politicians or others.