In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

During the childhood days, parents and teachers try to instil a constructive thought process among children as it can drastically improve their outlook. With the same motive, numerous cultural teachings stress upon the idea of nothing is impossible provided that a person puts their heart and soul for the desired dream or goal. This essay will discuss two key merits and demerits of such teaching.

Bringing up children with the idea of being industrious has two significant benefits. Firstly, it enables them to perceive the importance of hard work by the virtue of which they can achieve seemingly impossible goals. In other words, this kind of positive message makes young minds hard-working that would not only result in better academic success but also better professional growth in their adult life. Also, this teaching helps children to be optimistic in life; no matter how tough the situation is or how hard the circumstances are if they are persistent and determined they can win against all odds. For instance, Elon Musk made reusable space rockets that were unimaginable just by his determination and positive outlook towards adversities. Thus,

conditioning young minds with constructive messages can go a long way.

On the flip side, if a teaching is taken literally, it can be disastrous. Since children do not have rational thinking as adults do. They might become extremist if the idea of simply hard work is fed into their minds. There is a possibility that they would not be able to establish work-life balance which is going to adversely affect their quality of life. Take Steve Jobs, Apple’s former C.E.O, as an example all his life his worked so hard that he was deprived of meaning relationships in his later life. Moreover, almost no one can achieve their goal in the first attempt, so without giving a message to accept and handle rejection this idea of working hard is going to do more harm than good. For example, many youngsters after a single failure from a job interview or school exams think about and sometimes even take their lives just because they think this is the best they can do.

In conclusion, the idea of putting one’s hundred percent has positives as well as negatives which should be analysed and taken into consideration while pursuing one’s dreams.