Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Nowadays, most businesses and workplaces have mandatory attire guidelines for their staff. Apart from the credible merits of following the dressing norms of an organization, it also has several demerits. In this essay, the merits and demerits of dressing in a uniform will be outlined.

To begin with, a unique standard of clothing style and color for each company could be a suitable approach for equality of the workforce regardless of their financial status. Besides, to distinguish between different levels of the staff, uniform plays a vital role. To exemplify, in military forces, junior army officers have a separate uniform than their seniors. It encourages them to work efficiently and productively to reach to next level, hence, providing them an objective to put their best efforts into their jobs. Moreover, at numerous workplaces, protective garments and shoes are imperative to alleviate unexpected accidents.

However, in some cases, people are imposed to wear a uniform without any need. As a result, workers might feel uncomfortable while working. Furthermore, a particular costume could be abhorrent to the employees because of cultural or religious differences. For example, wearing a skirt is mandatory for air hostesses, which is not appropriate for Muslim women, who wear 'Burkha', thus, putting them to a disadvantage for working in that field.

To conclude, although uniform is required for providing uniqueness to a profession, and to avoid discrimination based on the economic condition at a workplace, it could reduce the opportunities for individuals of some religions to get employed in their area of interest. Despite the benefits of uniforms for precarious work conditions, the freedom of clothing must be given to the staff to cap its limitations.