Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

Some businesses have uniforms for their workers which must always be worn. This essay would argue that the main benefit of staff to wear a uniform to work is to enforce conformity and loss of respect is the main drawback. In my opinion, I believe employees should wear uniforms to work because they have to comply with company standards.

On the one hand, the main advantage of employees who wear uniforms to work is for them to obey rules and regulations within the company. This is because, some staff would wear unprescribed attire to work which will be against the company's rules. For example, In 2019, I worked with the central bank in Kenya and all employees were supposed to be in a blue long sleeve shirt with a red tie for the men and a red neck piece for the ladies. I believe this is a positive attitude because it prevents the workers from improper dressing.

However, some believe that the drawback is that workers will not be respected when they wear prescribed attire to work. The reason is that, the job they may be doing might not be respected in society and that they will not be given the necessary respect. For example, the Daily Newspaper in Ghana reported that employees from the Global Waste Company decided not to wear their uniform to work because they were always disrespected by the public whenever they go to collect waste. I believe this does not have any effect on the job because they are being paid to work not to listen to what society says.

To conclude, although workers may be disrespected whenever they wear uniforms to work which is a drawback, I believe the advantage of it is for them to abide by the rules set by the company