Many museums charge for admission, while others are free.
Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to
museums outweigh the disadvantages?
Lots of museums charge an entry fee, while others do not. This essay thinks
that the drawbacks of charging fees do not outweigh the benefits because
although some people are excluded when museums charge admission,
museums need the funding.
The main disadvantage is that high fees exclude a large proportion of the
population, especially in less developed countries. Many people in poorer
countries have just enough money for food and shelter and exhibits and
museums are one of the few cultural activities they can enjoy free of charge.
For example, Egypt has millions of poor people, but also a rich ancient
culture and it is important that all the people get to experience these
artefacts, not just those that can afford it. But this essay would argue that
people with such serious concerns are unlikely to appreciate the arts.
However, there are some who say that museums are unsustainable without
the money they get from ticket sales. They say that this allows the buildings
to remain open and it is better that some people get to see the exhibits,
rather than none at all. For instance, in the UK there have been huge
government spending-cuts over the last few years, and museums have had
to rely on entrance fees to stay open. Therefore, it is obvious that without
these charges, there would be no museums at all.
In conclusion, although it is unfortunate that everyone cannot enjoy the
exhibits in a museum, the money earned from charging people to enter is
often the only thing that is keeping the doors open.