In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepa

Education is the backbone of any country’s growth and development. Children in many European countries take vocational training to be ready for jobs, while others take a more generic approach to academics and learn the general idea of various subjects. In my opinion, it is important to be academically strong as well as get practical exposure to the industry.

The first school of thought states that some students want to develop skills which prepare them for the Industry. So, they start at an early age and define their careers. These students might know what they want to become from the early age and hence they are pursuing their dreams. For instance, I wanted to be a carpenter from childhood so I took the carpentry course and became a successful carpenter. It is important that practical training be given to the students to realize what they are good at and help them prepare for the jobs available in the market.

However, the second school of thought contradicts this thought and is of the opinion that, children in their early teens may not be ready to choose their career paths. They need time and exposure to various subjects till they are fully prepared to select the one that they are passionate about. To exemplify, children taking a generic education may learn a variety of subjects in the field of Arts, Science, Commerce and Technology and when they develop interest in a subject they are free to choose them. Jobs are available in all fields but it is important to ascertain the interest of the child before selecting a career.

In conclusion, some European countries focus on developing practical skills to make them ready for work while others emphasize on a general approach till a certain age. In my opinion, a mix of both the techniques is required for the overall development of the child’s brain and nourishment of their personalities.