Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate school Others however believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In many countries it is believed that boys and girls should be educated separately, while others think it is best to teach them in the same environment. This essay will discuss both the school of thoughts and describe which side suits the best for everyone in the opinion of the writer.

According to the first group, it is better to have separate schools for both genders as it helps in focusing on studies. There is less distraction from the teenage curiosities and fantasies that develop for the opposite sex. There is also less gender bias in terms of the field of study which the girls or boys are most likely to choose. For instance, there was an article in Mumbai times on the same issue and it was analysed that there were more chefs who had passed out from the boys school as compared to the mixed gender institutes. This can be a good reason to put your child in single gender school.

However, on the other hand, the other school of thought is of the opinion that children should be educated in mixed gender schools for their social development and for their overall personality development. In the modern world it is important to teach the students to work together in a coexisting environment so that they are well versed with dealing and communicating with their colleagues of opposite sex. To exemplify, when boys and girls study together they get an opportunity to compete and learn from each others strengths and weaknesses. It helps in their overall development and prepares them for the future where they will be working together in a corporate environment.

To conclude, The benefits of teaching in mixed schools outweighs the disadvantages of the co-ed schools. In my opinion, it is up to the children and their parents to decide which school they want to choose. There are pros and cons of both the sides and it is best to leave it on the individuals to decide based on their perception and situation.