In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel

less safe than ever before.

What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to

solve it?

In some nations, in spite of a decline in the number of severe offences, the citizens feel more threatened as compared to the past. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the chance of re-offence by the ex-convicts and most viable solution is a public awareness campaign to deter this problem.

The major cause of this threat is the probability of re-offence by the criminals because society refuses to accept them and this rejection is due to the stigma associated with these ex-prisoners. Moreover, due to their criminal record, they fail to get secure a better place neither at work nor in society. As a result, it is more likely that they returned back to their criminal world due to peer pressure and their families. For example, a research report published in the Daily times states that due to unemployment among many offenders after leaving the prison chance of re-offence inclined to 60%.

A long term solution to this predicament is the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people to consider them like the way were before committing the crime. Those who have completed their detention time and became a good member of society, people should accept them and give them all the rights to live in society. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more open and honest about it. For instance, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 40% decrease in crime and chance of re offence.

In conclusion, the chance of committing a further crime by the delinquents is a major issue that results in people living with great fear; however, it can be addressed through educating people to give them a second chance.