In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a proven fact that consumption of certain types of fast food result in deterioration of health of humans. To mitigate this issue, some people suggest about placing huge levies on these food items, which in my opinion may not be a good idea. I will discuss some reasons to support my opinion in this essay.

To begin with, it is important to understand why people tend to prefer fast food to others. One of the reason is the cheaper price. Owing to the poor financial status, majority of consumers try to fill their stomach by choosing these. For the same reason, companies such as McDonalds have come up with schemes such as one-dollar burger. Moreover, the modern-day economy has had negative effects on farming which resulted in rapid increase in prices of organic food, which made it unaffordable for poor sections in many countries.

Alongside lower prices, the time taken to prepare these items is often too low. In this busy world, jobholders in particular find this aspect appealing. Furthermore, not all fast foods are junk; some of them even have health benefits. For instance, Idly, a South-Indian recipe, is full of iron and minerals necessary for human bodies. So imposing tariffs on all these foods may not be right.

That being said, the impact such taxes have on manufacturers should also be considered. Apart from some big food chains, a majority of vendors run mobile canteens or road-side stalls and they lose their customers and business due to extra taxes.

On the whole, I think demanding toll from manufacturers of fast food may not be an appropriate solution considering the economic status of a majority of their consumers.