In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Do you agree or disagree?

It has often been argued that in some countries people are now more inclined towards readymade food leading to health disorder. To avoid citizens, consuming unhealthy diet, it has now became obligatory to charge more tax on these kind of food items. To be very precise, I strongly agree with this opinion and think whatever we eat leads to our good or bad health and levying tax on eatables will restrict us to eat food like breads and buns.

To begin with, it has commonly been noticed that due to busy lifestyle, family has opted to eat junk food as it does not take more time to cook. Not only elders are giving the priority to these food but also kids love to eat burgers and pizzas. As a result of it, children are becoming obese at very young age. Unknowingly, when adults eat food like noodles, it does not get digested easily and leads to stomach ailment. For example, a study done in oxford university states that 50%youngsters of United States of America are suffering from obesity in comparison to Indian teenagers. Therefore, government should not take second thought for those food items that makes people sick instead a lucrative amount should be charged.

Furthermore, it has been seen that those who were in early eighties were not as sick as people today. With the advancement of technology, we are moving to more developed stage, unfortunately neglecting what our food platter constitute of. Also, it is visible that celebrity do not rely on fried, spicy diet instead their dietician makes their chart where all food is mixed of organic veggies and they pay more attention towards physical exercise. For instance, a famous interview of Kareena Kapoor suggested that in order to stay fit and fine, it is now mandatory to consume home cooked food. Moreover, there is a huge tax on beer and people think twice to buy it resulting in balanced consumption. Thus, by inculcating tax on ready to eat food will keep people away from these bad habit.

To recapitulate, I would rather say, eating favorite food to satisfy tongue craving is good till the time it is not hampering the health. So it is vital for the government to come up with tax scheme on certain food items to keep country healthy.