In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Do you agree or disagree?

It has often been argued that with the surge in the fast food items in last few decades has led to health disorder in some countries. To avoid citizens, consuming unhealthy diet, it has now became obligatory to charge more tariff on readymade food items. To be very precise, I strongly agree with this opinion and think a diligent measure should be taken to curb the amount of readymade food consumption. Government levying tax on eatables as in case of alcohol and tobacco will restrict to eat food where, there is a meddling of breads and buns.

To begin with, it has commonly been noticed that due to busy lifestyle, family has opted to eat junk food as it does not take more time to cook. Not only elders are giving the priority to this food but also kids love to eat burgers and pizzas. As a result of it, children are becoming obese at very young age. Unknowingly, when adults eat food like noodles, it does not get digested easily and leads to stomach ailment. For example, a study done in oxford university states that 50%youngsters of United States of America are suffering from obesity in comparison to Indian teenagers. Therefore, government should not take second thought for those food items that makes people sick instead a lucrative amount should be charged.

Furthermore, it has been seen that those who were in early eighties were not as sick as people today. With the advancement of technology, we are moving to more developed stage, unfortunately neglecting what our food platter constitute of. Also, it is visible that people consume beer and tobacco in balanced proportion as it costs more. The tax which government received from citizens gets utilized in treatment of lung damage after smoking. For instance, United Kingdom has a strategy to use the amount of taxes earned by selling cigarette for treatment of lungs ailment. Moreover, there is a huge tax on beer and people think twice to buy it resulting in proportionate consumption. Thus, by inculcating tax on ready to eat food will keep people away from these bad habit.

To recapitulate, I would rather say, eating favorite food to satisfy tongue craving is good till the time it is not hampering the health. So it is vital for the government to come up with tax scheme on certain food items to keep country healthy.