In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian

diet.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A healthy mind thrives in a healthy body, and for high fitness levels a balanced diet is mandatory. In many nations, the trend of using food which consists of vegetables is gaining popularity at a staggering rate among people. This essay will argue that despite their being the potential benefit of cost-effectiveness, the risk of malnutrition, leads people to a plight far outweighs any of the advantages it brings.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of a vegetarian diet in terms of cost-effectiveness because the soaring prices of meat products are unaffordable for many individuals. Nowadays, it is becoming difficult for masses to make both ends meet due to the inflation of prices, so they tend to adopt penny-pinching approach by preferring a vegan diet. For example, a survey report published in the Daily Times stated that due to high cost of food products 56% of people shift to vegetarian diet in order to save their hard-earned money.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages discussed above, the vegetarian diet is deprived of essential proteins that cause malnutrition. Non-vegetarian food is major source of protein that is the building block of body which is required for proper functioning of the body organs. In other words, this approach, in the long run causes several ailments such as anemia, deficiency of micronutrients, and bone deformities. For instance, child mortality rate in Africa is 84% because mothers are deficient in the protein diet, so the survival rate of newborn is low.

To conclude, simply relying on meals which consist of vegetables decreases the physical fitness levels of the body due to lack of a balanced diet far outweighs the benefit of saving money by cutting down protein enriched food which has several benefits. It is recommended that proper diet which is full of seven essential nutrients should be followed in order to maintain a healthy life.