In some countries it can be very difficult for people over the age of 50 to get good jobs despite their experience.

What do you think are the causes of this problem?

and what measures should be taken to solve it?

It is irrefutable fact that getting job after the age of 50 has become an uphill task ever since the modernization took place. Despite of having commendable experience, grey people are not preferred in job vistas owning to several reasons, elucidated in the upcoming segments along with the plausible measures.

First and foremost reason that why middle age people face difficulties in indulging in work is that they are considered doing the work in obsolete manner. To be more precise, such people are deprived of advanced education related to their work field and work with the old techniques which are time-consuming and sometimes are not effective, thus, are rejected by modern industries. The modern engineers, for instance, at present come up with various pragmatic skills while over 50 age engineer would not be able to apply same due to the lack of updated version of studies. Consequently, they are unable to adopt technology and are less familiar with modern equipment. Not only this but also they are not physically fit and mentally agile. By this I mean, after adulthood people have less stamina to cope up with long working as they may have cardiovascular disease and blood pressure problems which can be commonly observed. Therefore, they are given less priority to indulge in jobs.

However, middle age people can be given minor jobs in order to meet their requirements. To illustrate, making them sit idle can mar down there perspective which may lead to stress. Hence, they can indulge in jobs like supervisor, care taker and many more which required no efforts. In Singapore, for example, grey people do jobs like Chef, gardening and many more to utilise their leisure time which contributes a lot in boosting the economy of nation. What is more, instead of eliminating such people from the jobs they should be made occupied to train newcomers about the minute intricacies of that particular business. In this case, they themselves learn a lot of from young employees as well. In return, they can teach their skills to them since they have enough experience.

To recapitulate, I vehemently vouch that due to health issues and lack of familiarity with technology force old people to take back seat at workplace. However, instead of firing them from job, their experience should be utilised in different aspects in terms of training youngsters and supervision and many more.