In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and this may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, small stores in the downtown tend to stop their businesses due to the customers’ trend of moving out to the mega malls in the suburbs and this leads to the rising number of cars to drive to those supermarkets. This essay will argue that despite the benefit of more vacant lands for recreational activities, the problems of congestion far outweigh this advantage.

The benefit of this shopping behavior change is more empty spaces because numerous small shops close and return the space to the owners. Governments can utilize those space to construct more recreational centers, such as a football pitch and swimming pool, to develop cities in a healthier way. For example, New York city has built more than 20 recreational complexes on the lands of closing stores from 2010 to 2015 and the rate of practicing sports of citizens in this city increased by 20% in this period. However, congesting on the highway during weekends makes residents enormous waste of time due to the significant increase in private transportation.

On the other hand, rocketing the number of car use to transport between out-of-center mega malls and cities causes a serious traffic jam in the weekend because people merely arrange their time to travel this far and shop the goods for hold week. As a result, people have to sacrifice their time to enjoy at home by being stuck on the highway for hours because the significant rise of cars and they cannot go to small shops due to its closing. As a study conducted by Harvard University in San Francisco city in 2017 showed that American shoppers spent more than 5 hours per week due to traffic jams at the weekend on the way to the shopping malls. Therefore, the benefit of more space in the city cannot compensate the time-wasting to the congestion.

In conclusion, I believe that the time issue congesting at weekend far outweigh the supposed more recreational activities replacing closing shops.