In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between

finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In our modern world in some countries young generation have choice between starting studying at universities and taking a year off for working or travelling. In this case there are drawbacks and also advantages of spending a year not studying after graduating high school.

The main benefit of young people taking a gap year before going to university is that future students can gain appropriate experience and knowledge for their future studies. For instance, if young people want to study the children’s educational area they can work at schools or kindergartens and they can even be like voluntaries. Therefore, they will be aware of basic knowledge. Undoubtedly, this knowledge will help them with academic tasks and research at university.

The major drawback of delaying studying after high school is that people might forget some essential academic knowledge for example of physics or mathematics which is usually needed at university especially if they travel. As a result, they can lose points regarding their in academic credentials also it leads to achievement of poor skills and low-quality knowledge for their future professional life. This is important because nowadays, young generation have problems in some circumstances with finding worthy job because of labor market competition. Young people should have excellent education and good work skills to be competitive in career.

To summarize the advantages and drawbacks of young people having a year off after high school, it is clear that it can bring good opportunities for future work experience on the one hand and can make academic results worse on the other hand.