Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Providing extra money as incentive to the best employees is a widely practiced style of management. Though incentive could act as a great motivating factor for some employees but others who do not have the opportunities to get it might be demotivated. Hence, searching for more effective ways to encourage the employees to work hard is quite sensible.

Recognition of hard work in the form of incentive is a great way of motivation for the outperformers. Furthermore, incentive culture could activate the basic instinct of human being to compete with others to win the race. Several scientific studies have confirmed that incentive could positively affect the sales volume and production rate of a company. What is more, incentive creates a competitive environment within the organization where each employee try his/her best to achieve it, which eventually benefits the employers.

Moreover, incentive is not perceived by the employees merely a matter of money it is more than that. It creates a feeling of being honoured. As a result, the achievers become more sincere to their works and start working even harder to continue their successes which could be beneficiary for the organization.

However, there could be another side effects of financial rewards. According to my experience, while I was working as a marketing executive for a private company I observed the despondency of the employees who worked for the company years after year but did not have the opportunity to get any incentive because of their positions. Some of them were working in creative department while others were working in the supply chain management department. The work nature of these departments do not provide its employees the prospect of being the best performer of the company even though they have to work hard. Hence, feelings of being derogated is evolved in the minds of these employees. Providing a general profit share or yearly bonus for all the employees could be a potential solution to address this issue.

Al-in-all, it is fairly a tough job for the management to satisfy all the employees and encourage them to work hard. Although many alternatives have been tried but none of them could surpass the efficiency of incentive as a strong tool of motivation. However, it should be designed in such a way that everybody of the organisation get the same opportunity to achieve it.