Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Learning a foreign language has many advantages including knowledge on diverse cultures, better job prospects, faster cognitive development, effective communication skills and so on. While some people believe that the only reason we should learn a foreign language is to visit or work in a foreign country, many others opine that the benefits of learning a different language are not restricted to the job and travel prospects only.

On one hand, it is quite natural that people want to learn a foreign language only to become able to communicate with those people who speak that language. Thus, many learn foreign languages like English, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Arabic either to visit/migrate or to find jobs in countries where people use these languages. From this regards, it seems quite logical that visiting a country or working there is the main reason why people learn a second language. In my country, most of the people learn English and Spanish while almost nobody learn Russian. Migration and job prospects are the reasons that has established this trend, I believe.

On the other hand, research indicates that cognitive development happens faster among children who learn a second language than those who do not. Furthermore, learning a second language is mandatory in an academic syllabus which helps us understanding diverse cultural and traditional aspects. People who know more languages are capable of reading more books, and understanding the lifestyle of different nationalities. Again, learning a foreign language helps us make new friends. Thus it is evident that learning a foreign language has many other benefits as well.

In conclusion, we cannot deny the fact that people primarily learn a foreign language to travel to or work in a developed country. But it is quite evident that there are far many advantages of learning a foreign language than to work or migrate to a country.