Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

In the time of cut-throat competition, employers are chasing their workforce to be in office round the clock all throughout the year to churn out extra hours. While this strategy may work in some cases, I think it has more negatives than positives. Also, the trend will eliminate work life balance and may affect health in some cases.

On the one hand, it is observed that the employees who are asked to support office while they are on vacations feel more exhausted, frustrated and tortured. Sometimes, it forces them to take the decision of leaving the firm, resulting in loss of experienced workforce for the firm. This trend negatively affects people’s lives too. Since they are not out of the work, that leads to lesser time with family and friends. Thus, creating a vacuum between the relationships and leading to unnecessary misunderstandings between them.

On the other hand, some organizations work round the clock to support their multi-national clients. For instance, outsourcing and call center companies have processes set up where people are contacted even when they are on a break. This maintains normalcy in the project. Further, one is up to date with the current status and can immediately start when he/she returns from holidays.

To sum up, it is need of the hour for the firms to contact their employees when they are on a break. However, it is recommended to let them enjoy their holidays to keep them energized and enthusiastic towards work.