Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Many people think that how the advertising industry is promoting their products are immoral and objectionable; I am a staunch supporter of this statement. This, I shall prove with the arguments in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, advertising manipulates people because they take the services of glamorous and successful people as brand ambassador to promote their reputation. Thus, people link these products with a higher status symbol. To illustrate, I Phones are the Apple products; a new launched often costs more than fifty thousand rupees and is famous with the high-end society. Hence, many people from a lower end or a middle class are attracted to buy this product to show their fake level. Though, its features are often similar to the previous one.

Furthermore, many advertisements aim their marketing towards children, such as giving out free toys or sugary drinks to kids. Stores namely, Mac Donald’s and Burger King are in the list, whose products are unhealthy and are connected to enhance obesity in youngsters. Though the government is trying to raise awareness in schools and in media, the impact on children is very minimal. The reason for this is that they advertise in a very persuasive manner and the children cannot differentiate between the sources. Therefore, the government should either control the advertisements or ban them completely.

To conclude, I would like to say that although advertising plays a key part in marketing products, however, advertisements should be regulated. Moreover, false or products posing a risk to health should be banned.