Some parents believe that children in their leisure should be involved in educational activities. While others believe it adds to much pressure on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a raging debate whether children leisure activities should be educational base or not. Some believe that children are free to decide on what to play during their leisure time while some believe otherwise. This essay will discuss both the views using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, our current educational system has significantly changed over the last couple of years. In order to cope up with the competitive world, many parents prefer their children to spend leisure time doing educational activities, as it will help them to sharpen their knowledge. These educational activities are fun base and help the children to learn quickly. For example, recent empirical research by UK Government demonstrated that children exposed to educational activities during their free time are said to possess far better knowledge on the subject. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that educational base activities helps in honing children’s knowledge.

On the other hand, many parents believe that children’s leisure activities should be fun and not educational base. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, outdoor team base activities helps in overall development like developing interpersonal skills, communications skills and team spirit which is required to be successful in today’s competitive world. Secondly, leisure activities helps the child to unwind and detached for a while from the academic pressure. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that children learn team spirit, coordination and communication when they play team base outdoor activities like cricket and football. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that any fun leisure activities helps in the growth of the child and makes him/her future ready.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that educational activities alone will not help to shape the child’s future. In fact, too much indulgence will make the child least interested in studies. In my opinion, there should be a balance between educational and fun activities, as a right mix will help in the overall growth of the child.