Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Some parents opine that children reading books for entertainment is merely wasting their time and instead they should spend time in reading educational books only. But there is another category of parents who feel the opposite. My opinion matches with the latter. This essay will lay stress upon how reading for entertaining oneself can help in holistic development of a child and also supports in mitigating the monotony and pressure built by reading serious educational books.

When a child is given a book to read for which he or she has interest, learning will be quick. For the overall growth of a child, it is imperative that he/she is given all kind of books to read. For example, the books based on cartoons or some comedy novels will help the reader to relax his mind and think more creatively while focusing onto the academics. Hence, the role of humor and enjoyment plays a very significant role in nurturing a child.

Furthermore, reading for entertainment purpose helps in lowering down the stress level pertaining to academics among the children and help them in fully utilizing their reading time. For example, findings of a recent survey by Harvard University, wherein 223 school going children were interviewed, made it clear that 86 percent of these respondents feel that reading books for entertainment has brought down their stress level by 36 percent. Hence, it becomes very evident that reading books to have fun is a great stress buster.

To conclude, it will not be incorrect to say that reading books with an intent to entertain oneself not only helps in holistic growth of the child but also play an important role in breaking the monotony and reducing the burden that they experience in reading serious educational books.