Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

It is true that, many parents provide a great deal of playthings for their offspring. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages which are worth considering.

There are several benefits to children playing with a lot of toys throughout their childhood. Firstly, playing with various things in a child's life has a big impact on the adulthood. Many psychologists believe that toys and playful hobbies are intended to improve children's creativity as well as their talents and skills can be recognized in this phase. For example, kids who their ears are so sensitive to musical toys might be a gifted musician and artist in the future. Secondly, as far as communication is concerned, children learn social skill as they spend time with different toys which would lead them to establish a good relationship with peers. Finally, not only do numerous toys entertain children in an effective way, but also prevent any obsessional manners about having toys.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of having a large number of toys cannot be neglected. In the first place, a wide range of toys is mainly made in plastic and other harmful substances which are detrimental to kids’ health. Consequently, when it comes to environmental pollution, we would spontaneously produce a great deal of non-renewable toys converting them to rubbish after a while. What’s more, children’s expectations might have been increased by providing any playthings for them, maybe continuing in adolescence that parents have to accommodate children's needs all of the time. Eventually, in terms of social gap, all of the children couldn’t afford their favorites while they will see in peers’ hands. Thus, providing various toys might bring about bad feelings like jealousy in other kids.

In conclusion, there are clear positives and negatives for providing a lot of toys for children by parents.