Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for the child having large number of toys.

Some parents purchase lots playthings for their wards. This attitude has both its pros and cons and such will be discussed in detail.

There are many advantages to buying many toys for youngsters. Nowadays, a lot of toys are quite educative and creative. Firstly, having a large number of various toy-things makes a child develop an inquisitive and analytical mind. In addition to this, it also helps the children develop an independent skill because they could play alone without soliciting for anybody's attention and would be able to solve some problems on their own. For instance, a recent study conducted on primary school children in Nigeria showed that toddlers that undergo Montessori kind of teaching performs better that their counterparts that were taught with the conventional mode of training.

Despite the merit of possessing more toys enumerates above, too much access to large numbers of toys has a demerit of making a child too much reliant on it and hence may create a communication gap between the ward and family members or their peers and also may affect the wards performances in conventional subjects. Many children becomes addicted to their toys and this has a rippled effect on their social behaviours and academic excellence. A recent study shows that children who has access to a lot of toys are susceptible to being an introvert which may lead to bad habits such as developing criminal minds and harbouring anger and hurts which is one of the reasons many of them are aggressive.

To conclude, spending a lot of money on acquiring huge numbers of toys for children has both its pros and cons, and this has been discussed in the above essay.