In recent years, many small local shops have closed down because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Nowadays, most retail shops have shut down due to lack of patronage as customers now prefer to shop from big departmental stores, situated at various shopping arcades. In my opinion, this is a positive trend, as people can now shop in a conducive environment, they have more options to choose from, ample parking space and more job opportunities.

On the one hand, smaller shops have their own advantage of proximity to most homes, the fact that, there is no price control and little varieties to select from are a major cons. Most convenience stores do not have price control and most often sell at any price they deem fit. For instance, about two weeks ago, I realised I did not have enough greens to prepare fruity salad and had to buy at exorbitant price from a nearby shop.

On the other hand, big departmental shops have merits of varieties, controlled pricing, ample parking space and provide employment for many people. Firstly, all the shopping gallery has spacious parking lots for customers who are mobile and comes with their cars. Secondly, there is healthy competitions among the stores especially those that sell similar items and this is a key factor to price control. All the shops do promotional sales often to attract new buyers and to retain their existing clients. In addition, such shopping arcades provide employment to residents at different levels which is salient to the economic development of the society.

In conclusion, due to competitive pricing and convenience, many shoppers have decided to patronise bigger shops at the shopping malls which is a positive trend to the economic growth of the society .