Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want.

Is this a good way to raise children?

What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Since ancient time, humanity has developed approaches to raising children, and debates on this issue are extremely heated.

Some parents feel they have to fulfil their children’s every wish to make them happy, but this type of parenting can demonstrate unexpected consequences.

I am confident that this way of raising kids will lead to the problems in adulthood, and this essay will discuss the main ones.

The presence of reasonable rules of behavior is a necessary condition for the development of a child. Limiting purchases forms a certain frame of reference for the child’s behavior, for example, buying toys as a reward. The baby understands the consequences of their action and preserves the presence of rules as caring for himself. According to the latest research in kid’s psychology, infants whose parents fulfil all their wishes perceive their parents’ behavior as indifference. Thus, sensible refusals or prohibitions are a necessary element of the education and the absence of the specifications negatively affects the life of the child.

However, main repercussions of this parenting will manifest themselves when the babies grow and they have to make their own decisions. I am convinced that the uncontrolled fulfillment of all the child’s desires leads to their inability to adequately assess the surrounding reality. The child ceases to understand the value of money and does not know how to handle it, which makes him more vulnerable to the real world. For instance, some millionaires have directed their savings to charity, leaving their children money only for a good education, so that they do not lose touch with the real world. Hence, the greatest benefit will not be fulfilling all the child’s whims, but smoothly preparing him for the challenges that he may face in adulthood.

In conclusion, the practice of giving in to all children's whims cannot lead to good results. As a result, a person will grow up not understanding the value of the money earned and not knowing how to handle it competently.