Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books, what is your opinion about this?

In our current society, some parents guide their children to read only serious educational books while they think any entertainments books is time-wasting. However, others including me, prefer children to choose whatever they like to read as long as it is healthy and useful.

On the one hand, some parents are more aware of the fierce competition and they pose pressure on the children to study hard and to digest only serious educational books. Only by this way, do they think their young generation can be more competitive and more well-educated. In their opinion, they think entertainments books are time-consuming and useless for the kids` future. Even more, they believe sometimes entertainments books such as novels and comics are misleading. Therefore, they force their children to focus only on serious educational books.

On the other hand, others believe that children are born with curiosity and they need to absorb different knowledge to know the world and explore deeper about the unknown. Both educational books and entertainments books have this function for children to gain what they want to know. Besides, children need to read something entertaining and amusing to color their life experience and develop their interests. For example, some writers are not born to be, some writers read thousands novels, painters may be addicted to comics while they are at the young age before they become professional painters.

In conclusion, both educational books and entertainment books are essential to children`s growth. They play different roles in the youth stage. I encourage children to read whatever they are interested in and curious about so then that they can be more well-rounded.