Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although art represent the culture of the country, few people opine that governing body should not spend money on preserving it rather should invest in other sectors to help the overall population of the country. In my opinion, conserving the tradition of the country is crucial and the nation should have budget to keep its art field.

The foremost reason I believe to save art is to keep the treasure for the future generation. Enormous knowledge is gained through old manuscripts, folk dance, music, carvings and paintings done by ancient civilization. It is the way by which youth understand the lifestyle and artifacts of old era. Undoubtedly, the art field requires budget to amend its wear and tear due to passing time. For example, Antique items should be kept in museum and forts ruined by decay of time should be refurbished;these all need monetary funds to keep them alive, which however cannot be accomplished without government steps of allocating budget and maintaining them. Secondly, the art of country also contribute towards economy by attracting tourists from other countries. For instance, the ' Taj Mahal ' in India is an excellent example of Mughal art and architecture, and government of India is taking every step to maintain it, which is in turn contributing to government funds by attracting the tourist and history lovers across the globe.

In contrast, the critics argue that public services should be given high priority and money for repairing the art monuments is totally waste but the country is known by its art and ancient artifacts, which can never be ignored. They believe that good transportation, roads and other services builds the nation, giving convenience to the citizens. Although this is true to some extent; however, the facilities cannot be availed at such a high cost of destroying country's art. The country's royalty is seen in its art and it should be treasured by every civilization.

To sum up, I pen down saying that public services are essential for country to prosper; but it should not be done at the cost of burning old art of the country. In any case, the art sector should get money for its maintenance because it showcase the rich culture and tradition of the land.