Some people argue that a growing number of young people spend too much time in watching TV. Why does this phenomenon happen? And what kinds of activities should be encouraged to them?

The entertainment industry has rapidly grown in the past few years. And with the development of technology, there are various contents available today. Youngster today utilise most of the time in watching television. This essay will discuss the reason for this trend and what can be the best activity for a young person can take part in.

On the one hand, technology has evolved immensely even in the television industry. Today most of the TV is a smart TV, which has various features such as internet and other video streaming applications. Compared to earlier days today there are copious contents online, which are available through YouTube, Netflix, and Amazon Prime. Moreover, most of these applications target younger demographic people with their programmes. For example, series such as the game of Thrones is so popular among the youth that they spend hours in front of the television watching them. Additionally, there are numerous TV channels today compared to earlier days, so it gives more options to spend extra time in front of the television.

On the other hand, the young generation today are more obese than people decades ago. The primary reason for this is the sedentary lifestyle. People spend hours on their couch and do not indulge in any physical activity. Youngsters today must participate in more physical activities like joining a fitness club, playing a sport and so on. This will keep them fit and healthy which can help them concentrate and perform better at the workplace. For example, I was a person who used to spend hours watching TV and had gained unhealthy weight because of no physical activity, but after I started jogging regularly, I noticed a drastic improvement in my fitness level and my performance at work.

To conclude, spending hours watching television will make a person unfit. One must set restrictions on time spent watching tv and has to invest more time in playing outdoor.