Some people argue that technologies inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive.

Do you agree or disagree?

Technology inventions have immensely contributed to bridging the communication gap globally. However, many people argue that on one hand communication devices have made long-distance interactions easier, on the other hand, mobile phones are making people less interactive. I staunchly agree with this statement as cellular phones have become a one box entertainment package thus reducing the social interactions amongst people. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on this topic with relevant examples.

Firstly technological evolution has led to the invention of ultra-compact cell phones embedded with social media applications like You-Tube, Facebook, What's App and Viber which provide a wide array of social media content to keep people occupied most of the times thus making them less interactive. For instance, as per the recent survey was done in India, it was published that 90 per cent of people commuting by train is busy using mobile phone watching YouTube. Additionally, most of the mobile phones have gaming applications which people use as pass time thus reducing interactions levels. Although such trends are rising in underdeveloped countries however they are more visible in developing countries.

Lastly, people nowadays have become busier in their lives hence they use mobile phones to keep them up to date with the events happening globally thus minimizing the interaction levels. Technology applications like Google provide all the information from news, sports, and politics. For example, in Canada, it was published that most of the students are heavy users of mobile phones making them less interactive compared to the past.

To conclude though cellular phones have made communication easier, however, on the other hand, it can be seen that people have become less social in comparison to the past.