Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Languages are gateways to countless opportunities. While some people believe that students should be taught a foreign language when they enter the primary school, others argue that it is more beneficial to put it off till pupils reach secondary school. In my opinion, the benefits of such regulation outweigh its disadvantages. Therefore, it is necessary to put a foreign language in primary school curriculum from first grade.

On the one hand, some parents are worried that by introducing another language their offspring might get distracted from focusing on more important disciplines such as mathematics and biology. Since the time that a scholar spend at school is limited, in order to include a foreign language in the syllabus, the time dedicated to other subjects must be deducted. This particular change may have a detrimental effect on students’ performance. Moreover, learning another language may pose a threat to children's national identity as it may have a cultural impact on youngsters who have not fully embraced their own traditions yet.

Nevertheless, the value of knowing other languages has often been eclipsed by prejudicial judgments. Firstly, in contrast to common beliefs acquiring a new language significantly improves people cognitive abilities. For example, studies show that children who were struggling with math problems showed an impressive rise in their math grade after taking up learning a new language. Secondly, having knowledge about other countries' culture make young students more well-rounded and informed; it broadens their horizon and teaches them valuable lessons such as how to emphasize with other people regardless of their origin. Finally, younger children are more prone to learn new languages and are easier motivated. For example, new educational methods leverage children enthusiasm for playing to teach them new vocabularies through game boards.

In conclusion, although some parents might be concerned about the harmful side effects of teaching a foreign language from early years of school, as explained above the advantages of this inclusion is far more remarkable to be overlooked.