Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

It has been observed that nowadays teachers and parents puts a lot of pressure on children to do well in their exams to gain high grades. Some people are of the view that children should not waste time in playing and should be spending their spare time in studying too. My thoughts contradicts to this phenomenon as children should be given the liberty to enjoy their free time by their will. I shall elaborate my stance with valid arguments and examples in the following paragraphs.

To embark upon, the argument that children get too much free time does not hold water. Too much emphasis on studies and star grades has never been a success criteria and is outrageous. By putting children to study all the time would make them a book-worm & an introvert. There are numerous examples of successful people who are not high class literates but did well in their lives. For instance, famous inventor Thomas Edison was a dumb student in his school life; yet he provided the world with the universal light idea.

To elucidate my stance further, children should be given the choice to enjoy their free time exploring themselves. There are many abilities that are not linked with studies at all; such as painting, music, designing and so on. Children must be given time for self-realization, they need to realize what they excel at. I would like to quote an example of famous Pakistani Artist, Mr. Amin Gul Jee; who was not a bright student but holds a great title in the Arts world and is renowned for his work.

In summation, children should not be over-burdened with academics-stems and spare time must be spent in its true essence enjoying their desirable activity. In the future, it is expected that teachers and parents would be more conscious of child’s interest instead of academic grades.